Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin


Several elections for Clinton County village or city offices up for grabs were decided on April 6.

Included were the race for clerk in Breese where incumbent Sandy Hemann easily won against Erin Hamilton, 500 votes to 126. Also there Bryan Eversgerd will be joining the city council for the first time soundly beating Nicholas Conrad, 107 to 17 in votes. Terry Fields, an incumbent, retained his Ward 3 seat by getting 144 votes, 47 per cent, to prevail against 72 for Tricia Buehne and 52 for Chris Hamilton.  Bill Fischer in Ward 2 and Robert Berndsen in Ward 4 were not opposed in getting reelected.

Matthew Kohnen and incumbent Kevin Eversgerd had 444 and 440 votes in Aviston to get elected to the trustee board along with Curtis Albers who had 416, 31 per cent, while two other candidates, Doris Goestenkors and Troy Kapp, fell short in their election efforts.

Beckmeyer incumbent trustees Ronald Kampwerth with 158 votes or 64 per cent and Michael Hagen with 125, 51 per cent, were reelected. Joining that board will be Colby Rakers who was on 70 per cent of the ballots, leaving Mary Becker as the unchosen candidate.

Damiansville incumbent trustee Jay Warren was ousted from his seat on the board. Winning there were Phillip Fuehne, a new candidate with 71 per cent of the vote, 47, and incumbents Brian Albers, 37, 56 per cent, and Norman Horstmann, 33 or 50 per cent.

In Carlyle, the new Ward 3 alderman will be Jeffrey Taylor whose 115 votes, or 58 per cent were enough to beat Wilson Brown with 82 or 41 per cent. Incumbents Scott Diekemper in Ward 2 and Michael Jansen in Ward 4 were not opposed. Same with new candidate for alderman in Ward 1, Tammy Peters.

In the city council race for alderman in Centralia, Robert “Rob” Jackson with 148 votes or 48 per cent and Jeffrey Castellari just behind him with 145 or 47 per cent were chosen ahead of Jason Hunter who had 30 votes, 10 per cent, Israel Fontanez Jr., 67, 22 per cent and Bradley Jones, 73, 24 per cent.

 New Baden voters chose to stay with incumbents Chris Locke, 330 votes or 55 per cent, and Bob Oster, 287 votes or 47 per cent, on their village board while Cindi Meredith-Wheelan was selected for a third seat, earning 299 votes or 49 per cent, over Jason Pollack and Byron Lewis who were not that far off with their totals of 245, 41 per cent, and 262, 44 per cent.

In the closest race in the county for Ward 3 alderman in Trenton, Joe Berry is the apparent winner with 72 votes ahead of 70 for incumbent Andrew Sims.

The long list of aldermen or board trustees in Clinton County who were reelected or elected without opposition also includes others than those already mentioned like new Trenton Aldermen Mark Brown in Ward 1 and incumbent James Deien in Ward 2, Norman Faulkner and Ruth Ann Paradee in Wamac, incumbents Jeff Timmermann, Kevin Kenow and Kent Schwierjohn in Albers, incumbent Ryan Hoerchler plus new members Richard Winkeler and Adam Maue in Bartelso, incumbents Moe Ripperda and Bernice Toennies in Damiansville, incumbents Mick Albers, Roger Rickhoff and Kenneth Albers in Germantown, incumbents Tammy Travis and Mabron Spittler in Hoffman, John Meskil and Vickie Hall in Huey, Edward Rule and Michall Chasteen in Keyesport and Justin Detmer, Steven Tebbe and Daniel Trame in St. Rose.

People who work hard taking meeting minutes and keeping records, the village or city clerks getting reelected without opposition in Clinton County were Mike Gebke in Bartelso, Marian Suhl in Wamac, Lisa Lammers in Beckemeyer, Karen Buzaard in Trenton and Teri Crane in New Baden.

Caleb Alexander

Caleb Alexander

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit